Marvin Yeomans Whiting Award

The Marvin Yeomans Whiting Award is given each year to an individual, organization or institution that has made a significant contribution to the preservation and dissemination of local history in Alabama. The award recognizes the preservation of historic documents and oral history but not buildings, artifacts or historic sites. Nominations for the award may come from SALA members and the general public. It is not required that the nominees be SALA members. The award is presented at the SALA annual meeting.

Marvin Yeomans Whiting was the Birmingham Public Library’s first archivist (1976-1996), a founding member of the Society of Alabama Archivists and a pioneer in the professionalization of archives in Alabama. The Birmingham Public Library co-sponsors the award.

Applications for the Whiting Award are due July 28, 2017. Download the application award form

Previous Recipients of the Award:

Tom Turley, Alabama Department of Archives and History

Bobby Joe Seales, Shelby County Museum and Archives

Coll'ette King, Mobile County Probate Court

Elizabeth Wells, Samford University Library, Special Collections

Ed Bridges, Alabama Department of Archives and History

» Return to Awards Page

» Return to SALA Home Page